Bible dictionaries provide in-depth, encyclopedic articles on books of the Bible, as well as people, places, topics, events, and practices mentioned in the Bible. Many dictionary articles include select bibliographies for further study, and this feature contributes to the usefulness of dictionaries at the beginning of the research process.
Dictionary of New Testament Background by 
The Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary (Anchor Bible Dictionary) by 
Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible by 
Dictionary of Paul and His Letters by 
Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Developments by 
New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible by 
Essential Bible Study Tools for Ministry by 
The New Testament Commentary Guide by 
The Essential Guide to Biblical Resources for Ministry by 
Abingdon New Testament Commentaries: Acts by 
Acts by 
Acts by 
The Acts of the Apostles by 
Acts: an Exegetical Commentary, 4 vols. (see links to digital content below) by 
Acts by 
Reading Acts, Rev. ed. by 
The New Interpreter's Bible by Dictionaries and encyclopedias typically include bibliographies at the end of each chapter. These updated lists of sources on specific research topics are invaluable at the beginning of the research process. The sample below shows the first two pages of a bibliography at the end of an encyclopedia chapter on ecclesiology.
To cite an article such as this one, using SBL Style, obtain the page range of the chapter along with the author's name. The author's name typically appears after the bibliography at the end of the chapter. In the example above, the author's name occurs between the end of the bibliography and the beginning of the next article heading.
Example bibliography entry:
Smith, M.J. “Feminist and Womanist Criticisms.” Pages 278-283 in Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels: A Compendium of Contemporary Biblical Scholarship. Edited by Joel B. Green, Jeannine K. Brown, and Nicholas Perrin. Downers Grove, IL: IVP Academic, 2013.
