LibGuides: BIBL 320.M1/M2: Introduction to Biblical Interpretation: Start Here

NT Introductions

Introducing the New Testament by Paul J. Achtemeier; Marianne Meye Thompson; Joel B. Green
Call Number: 225.61 A179I
ISBN: 0802837174
Publication Date: 2001-08-10
Synthesizes historical, sociological, cultural, literary, and theological considerations in so as to address the most significant issues that arise in the minds of the readers of the NT. Reflects the most recent conclusions of the best scholarship in a readable, nontechnical fashion.... Usually accepts traditional views on date and authorship. Probes significant questions that emerge from the book, ... and examines the book's overall theological message. Provides very selective bibliographies. Probably the most accessible and engaging introduction for persons beginning NT studies (Bauer, Essential Guide, 4.13.1).
An Introduction to the New Testament by M. Eugene Boring
Call Number: Online and 225.61 B734I
ISBN: 9780664255923
Publication Date: 2012-10-13
This thoroughly researched textbook from well-respected scholar M. Eugene Boring presents a user-friendly introduction to the New Testament books. Boring approaches the New Testament as a historical document, one that requires using a hands-on, critical method. Moreover, he asserts that the New Testament is the church's book, in that it was written, selected, preserved, and transmitted by the church. Boring goes on to explore the historical foundation and formation of the New Testament within the context of pre-Christian Judaism and the world of Jesus and the early church. He then examines the individual books of the New Testament, providing helpful background information and methods for interpretation, and revealing the narrative substructure found within each of the Gospels and Letters....
Introduction to the New Testament by Raymond E. Brown
Call Number: Online and 225.61 B879I
ISBN: 0385247672
Publication Date: 1997-10-13
Written by arguably the most prominent Roman Catholic NT scholar of the twentieth century. Produced for students rather than scholars.... Focuses on the final form of NT books rather than sources that lie behind the text... Carefully analyzes the content and development of thought within each book, discusses critical issues, ... explores theological issues, and offers extensive bibliography of works in English. Although a Roman Catholic, writes for an ecumenical audience. Tends toward moderate positions in (sic) critical issues, typically accepting the general critical consensus, but with sensitivity and appreciation for conservative sentiment and arguments (Bauer, Essential Guide, 4.13.2).
An Introduction to the New Testament, 2nd ed. by David A. deSilva
Call Number: Online and 225.61 D457I 2018
ISBN: 9780830874002
Publication Date: 2018-09-25
This introduction gives particular attention to the social, cultural, and rhetorical contexts of the New Testament authors and their writings. Few introductions to the New Testament integrate instruction in exegetical and interpretive strategies with the customary considerations of authorship, dating, audience, and message... Rarely do introductions to the New Testament approach their task mindful of students preparing for ministry. This introduction is explicit in doing so, recognizing as it does that the New Testament itself--in its parts and as a whole--is a pastoral resource. Each chapter on the New Testament literature closes with a discussion of implications for ministry formation... Separate chapters explore the historical and cultural environment of the New Testament era, the nature of the Gospels and the quest for the historical Jesus, and the life of Paul.
The New Testament by Donald A. Hagner
Call Number: Online and 225.6 H145N
ISBN: 9780801039317
Publication Date: 2012-11-15
Written by a leading evangelical scholar who adopts a moderately critical approach. Is remarkably successful in synthesizing historical, literary, and theological issues. Is much more theologically oriented than most introductions, making use of the framework of salvation history as the basis for unity of the NT. Although Hagner presents his own conclusions clearly, he represents other perspectives fairly and respectfully. Written from the perspective of the church's faith. Helpful extensive bibliographies conclude each chapter (Bauer, Essential Guide, 4.13.6).
A Critical Introduction to the New Testament by Carl R. Holladay
Call Number: 225.61 H733C
ISBN: 0687085691
Publication Date: 2005-05-01
This book introduces the New Testament in two senses: it not only provides basic literary and historical information on each of the twenty-seven writings but also orients readers to the religious, theological, and ethical issues related to the message and meaning of Jesus Christ. The overall goal is to help interested readers of the New Testament become informed, responsible interpreters of these writings and thereby enrich their personal faith and understanding.... A distinctive feature of this introduction is its simultaneous publication in two versions. There is a standard, printed version with comprehensive yet detailed coverage of each writing and supplementary chapters on related introductory questions. There is also an expanded CD-ROM version, which gives fuller treatment (and supporting endnotes) to numerous issues introduced in the printed version; provides extensive, annotated bibliographies on each chapter; and includes additional maps, diagrams, charts, and other resources for classroom use and personal study.
Introduction to the New Testament by Carl R. Holladay
Call Number: Online and 225.61 H733C 2017
ISBN: 9781481306188
Publication Date: 2017-03-30
Christian interpretation of the Bible is not a simple task. While finding both its beginning and end in the theological claim that Scripture reveals to us "what God has done in Christ," Christian interpretation demands much more. The interaction between believer and text is also conversation between reader and interpretive community, both ancient and modern. Theological interpretation entails close readings of texts but also a close analysis of contexts--the social and political shape of the Mediterranean world as well as our own. Interpretation requires the interweaving of theology, history, and literature. In Introduction to the New Testament Carl R. Holladay does just that. He roots each of the New Testament's twenty-seven writings in their historical, literary, and theological contexts. A true "Reference Edition," Holladay provides thorough, detailed, and exacting overviews, background material, and textual analysis. Holladay leads readers to consider questions of canon, authority, and genre that shape the formation of the text and the text's formation of the identity, theology, and mission of the church today. This Introduction does not leave its readers stranded in the first century; it also intentionally connects the message of the New Testament to the issues facing its faithful readers today...
The Writings of the New Testament, 3rd ed. by Luke Timothy Johnson
Call Number: 225.61 J661W 2010
ISBN: 9780800663612
Publication Date: 2010-04-01
Prominent Roman Catholic scholar explores the origin and shape of the NT in this comprehensive study that is at once both nontechnical and insightful. ... [D]iscusses the most important critical issues for an understanding of the message of the NT texts. Provides his own informed literary conclusions, without referring to other scholars by name in the text, and without footnotes. Concludes each chapter with annotated bibliography of works almost exclusively in English. Incorporates the newest insights into NT origins and hermeneutics, dealing with introductory issues by a model that attends to anthropological historical, literary, and religious aspects. Concludes with two helpful appendices on the new methods and on the historical Jesus (Bauer, Essential Guide, 4.13.7).

Other Significant NT Introductions

Burkett, Delbert. An Introduction to the New Testament and Origins of Christianity. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2002. 600pp.
- 225.61 B959I
Carson, D.A.. An Introduction to the New Testament. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2005. 781pp.
- 225.61 C321I
Cousar, Charles B. An Introduction to the New Testament. 1st ed. Louisville, KY: Westminster John Knox Press, 2006. 215pp.
- 225.61 C867I
Ehrman, Bart D. The New Testament: A Historical Introduction to the Early Christian Writings. 6th ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 2015. 608pp.
- 225.67 E33
Guthrie, Donald. New Testament Introduction. 4th ed. Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity, 1990. 1161pp.
- 225.61 G984N 2015
Johnson, Thomaskutty. An Asian Introduction to the New Testament. Minneapolis, MN: Fortress Press, 2021. 609 pp.
- eBook
Kee, Howard Clark. The Beginnings of Christianity. New York: T&T Clark, 2005. 502pp.
- 270.1 K26B
Koester, Helmut. Introduction to the New Testament. 2nd ed. 2 vols. New York: de Gruyter, 1995. 416/364 pp.
- 225.95 K785H 1995
Köstenberger, Andreas. The Cradle, the Cross, and the Crown: an introduction to the New Testament. 2nd ed. Nashville, TN: B&H Academic. 2016. eBook.
Kummel, Werner Georg. Introduction to the New Testament. Rev. ed. Nashville: Abingdon, 1975. 629pp.
- 225.6 K45E 1975
Marshall, Howard I., Stephen Travis, and Ian Paul. Exploring the New Testament: A Guide to the Letters and Revelation. 2nd ed. Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity, 2021.
- E-book
McDonald, Lee Martin, and Stanley E. Porter. Early Christianity and Its Sacred Literature. Peabody, MA: Hendrickson, 2000. 708pp.
- 225.61 M135E
Powell, Mark Allan. Introducing the New Testament: A Historical, Literary and Theological Survey. 2nd ed. Grand Rapids: Baker Academic, 2018. 592pp.
- Online and 225.61 P882I 2018
Puskas, Charles B. and C. Michael Robbins. An introduction to the New Testament. 2nd ed. Cambridge: Lutterworth, 2012.
- Online and CS 225 P987I
Schnelle, Udo. The History and Theology of the New Testament Writings. Minneapolis: Fortress, 1998. 573pp.
- 225.6 S359H
Smith, Dennis. Chalice Introduction to the New Testament. St. Louis MO: Chalice Press, 2004. 336pp.
- 225.61 C436
Theissen, Gerd. Fortress Introduction to the New Testament. Minneapolis, MN: Fortress Press, 2003. 206pp.
- 225.6 T377F

Usefulness of Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Bible dictionaries provide in-depth, encyclopedic articles on books of the Bible, as well as people, places, topics, events, and practices mentioned in the Bible. Many dictionary articles include select bibliographies for further study, and this feature contributes to the usefulness of dictionaries at the beginning of the research process.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Dictionary of New Testament Background by Craig A. Evans (Editor); Stanley E. Porter (Editor)
Call Number: Online and REL REF 225.9503 D554
ISBN: 9780830867349
Publication Date: 2010-06-11
The Dictionary of New Testament Background joins the Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels, the Dictionary of Paul and His Letters and the Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Developments as the fourth in a landmark series of reference works on the Bible.
The Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary (Anchor Bible Dictionary) by David Noel Freedman; Anchor Bible Staff
Call Number: Online and REL REF 220.3 A539 V. 1-6
ISBN: 9780385193511
Publication Date: 1998-12-01
Six years in the making, this state-of-the-art dictionary offers the most up-to-date and comprehensive treatment of biblical subjects and scholarship. An essential reference for every serious reader of the Bible. B & W illustrations and line-art throughout.
Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible by David Noel Freedman; Allen C. Myers (Editor); Astrid B. Beck (Editor)
Call Number: Online and REL REF 220.3 E26
ISBN: 9780802824004
Publication Date: 2000-10-23
The Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible gathers nearly 5,000 alphabetically ordered articles that thoroughly yet clearly explain all the books, persons, places, and significant terms found in the Bible. The Dictionary also explores the background of each biblical book and related writings and discusses cultural, natural, geographical, and literary phenomena--matters that Bible students at all levels may encounter in reading or discussion.
Dictionary of Paul and His Letters by Scot McKnight (General Editor); Lynn H. Cohick (Associate Editor); Nijay K. Gupta (Associate Editor)
Call Number: Online and REL REF 227.03 D554P 2023
ISBN: 9780830849369
Publication Date: 2023-04-11
The updated Dictionary of Paul and His Letters takes its place alongside the Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels, 2nd ed., and the other volumes in the IVP Bible Dictionary Series as a unique presentation of the fruit of biblical studies--committed to Scripture, using the best of critical methods, and maintaining dialogue with both contemporary scholarship and the challenges facing the church. The reference volumes in the series provide in-depth treatment of biblical and theological topics in an accessible encyclopedia format, including cross-sectional themes, methods of interpretation, significant historical or cultural background, and each Old and New Testament book as a whole.
New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible by Katharine Doob Sakenfeld (Editor)
Call Number: Online and REL REF 220.3 N532
ISBN: 9780687333653
Publication Date: 2008-05-01
This dictionary will become the first place Bible readers look for reliable scholarship. Includes cross-references, helpful outlines, bibliography, and maps, charts, and illustrations.

Guides to Commentaries and Their Use

Essential Bible Study Tools for Ministry by David R. Bauer
Call Number: Online and REL REF 016.22 B344E
ISBN: 9781426755170
Publication Date: 2014-03-18
This ... highly selective bibliography is designed to acquaint students and ministers with major works, significant publishers and prominent scholars in biblical studies. It is the perfect guide for beginning a research project or building a ministerial library. References are included based on the following considerations: (1) usefulness for the theological interpretation of the Bible within the context of the faith of the church; (2) significance in the history of interpretation; and (3) representation of evangelical and especially evangelical Wesleyan scholarship. A new edition of Bauer's work was published in 2023 (see below, Essential Guide...). Unfortunately, the new edition is currently unavailable in ebook form.
The Essential Guide to Biblical Resources for Ministry by Bauer, David
Call Number: REL REF 016.22 B344E
ISBN: 9781636630496
This up-to-date, highly selective, annotated bibliography is designed to offer students and ministers the major works, significant publishers, and prominent scholars in Biblical Studies. It is a perfect guide for beginning a research project or building a ministerial library. References are included based on the following considerations: (1) usefulness for the theological interpretation of the Bible within the context of the faith of the church; (2) significance in the history of interpretation; and (3) representation of evangelical and especially evangelical Wesleyan scholarship. Unfortunately, this new edition is currently unavailable in ebook form
The New Testament Commentary Guide by Nijay Gupta
Call Number: Online and REL REF 225.7 G977N
ISBN: 9781683594178
Publication Date: 2020-10-07
In this short, accessible resource, Nijay Gupta helps beginning Bible students understand the various available commentaries--their strengths, unique contributions, and ultimately, how to use them. Through The New Testament Commentary Guide, readers will understand how to incorporate commentaries into their learning and be enriched in their study of the Bible.

Commentaries on 1 Timothy

I and II Timothy and Titus by Raymond F. Collins
Call Number: Online and 227.83 C712F / REL REF 225.88 N532L B14
ISBN: 0664222471
Publication Date: 2002-10-30
The Pastoral Epistles present difficult questions for the modern interpreter, including such matters as their authorship, literary characteristics, and social orientations. Raymond Collins carefully leads the reader through the texts of these three documents, attending to the flow of the Pastor's thought and locating it within the Jewish and Hellenistic culture of his day. The New Testament Library offers authoritative commentary on every book and major aspect of the New Testament, as well as classic volumes of scholarship. The commentaries in this series provide fresh translations based on the best available ancient manuscripts, offer critical portrayals of the historical world in which the books were created, pay careful attention to their literary design, and present a theologically perceptive exposition of the text.
The Pastoral Epistles by Martin Dibelius; Hans Conzelmann; Helmut Koester (Editor); Philip Buttolph (Translator); Adela Yarbro (Translator)
Call Number: Online and 227.8307 D544P / REL REF 220.77 H553 V. 54
ISBN: 0800660021
Publication Date: 1989-01-01
There are many English commentaries on these letters, but none so replete with quotations (some quite extensive) from extra-biblical materials, whether Hellenistic, Jewish, or Christian, that bear on the linguistic and conceptual problems the letters contain.
"The First and Second Letters to Timothy and the Letter to Titus: Introduction, Commentary, and Reflections." NIDB 11:774-880. by James D.G. Dunn, Leander E. Keck.
Call Number: Online and 220.77 N532I v. 11 /Both Stanley and REL REF
ISBN: 0687278244
Publication Date: 2000-07-01
Dunn's important commentary of 1-2 Timothy and Titus appears in vol. 11 of the New Interpreter's Bible commentary series.
1 and 2 Timothy - Titus by Hulitt Gloer
Call Number: Online and 227.83077 G562T / REL REF 220.7 S667 B14
ISBN: 9781573125529
Publication Date: 2010-04-01
First and Second Timothy and Titus by Christopher R. Hutson
Call Number: Online and 227.8307 H9981F / REL REF 225.7 P142 B13
ISBN: 9781540962416
Publication Date: 2019-11-05
A practical commentary on First and Second Timothy and Titus that is conversant with contemporary scholarship, draws on ancient backgrounds, and attends to the theological nature of the texts.
The First and Second Letters to Timothy by Luke Timothy Johnson
Call Number: 227.8307 J661F / REL REF 220.7 A539 V. 35A
ISBN: 0385484224
Publication Date: 2001-03-20
Insightful and original commentary in which this Roman Catholic scholar takes the position, unusual for contemporary scholars outside the evangelical tradition, that both letters were written by Paul.... Attends seriously to the situation the letters purport to address, and interpreters them in light of the Pauline corpus. Introduction contains extensive discussion of history of interpretation, from the fathers to the present. Commentary consistently interacts with history of scholarship. Also makes use of linguistic analysis and Greco-Roman rhetoric and moral philosophy, which Johnson takes to be significant for the interpretation of Paul's letters. Concerned with the theological meaning of the final text, and offers some suggestions regarding contemporary appropriation (Bauer, Essential Guide, 4.37.2).
The Pastoral Epistles by J. N. Kelly
Call Number: 227.80719 K295P / REL REF 225.77 B627 B14
ISBN: 1565630238
Publication Date: 1993-07-01
The Pastoral Epistles by George W. Knight; George W. Knight
Call Number: Online and 227.8307 K71P / REL REF 225.77 N532G V.14
ISBN: 9780802823953
Publication Date: 1992-07-22
This is a thorough, full- scale English commentary on the Greek text of 1 and 2 Timothy and Titus. While author George W. Knight gives careful attention to the comments of previous interpreters of the text, both ancient and modern, his emphasis is on exegesis of the Greek text itself and on the flow of the argument in each of these three epistles. Besides providing a detailed look at the meanings and interrelationships of the Greek words as they appear in each context, Knight's commentary includes an introduction that treats at length the question of authorship (he argues for Pauline authorship and proposes, on the basis of stylistic features, that Luke might have been the amanuensis for the Pastoral Epistles), the historical background of these letters, and the personalities and circumstances of the recipients....
The Pastoral Epistles by I. Howard Marshall; Philip H. Towner
Call Number: Online and 227.8307 M367C 1999 / REL REF 220.7 I612 V. 39 1999
ISBN: 9780567084552
Publication Date: 2004-06-15
For over one hundred years, the International Critical Commentary series has held a special place among works on the Bible. It has sought to bring together all the relevant aids to exegesis - linguistic and textual no less than archaeological, historical, literary and theological-with a level of comprehension and quality of scholarship unmatched by any other series. No attempt has been made to secure a uniform theological or critical approach to the biblical text: contributors have been invited for their scholarly distinction, not for their adherence to any one school of thought. The first paperback editions to be published cover the heart of the New Testament providing a wealth of information and research in accessible and attractive format.
The Pastoral Epistles by Scot McKnight
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781107138797
Publication Date: 2023-08-31
In the church tradition three letters, now known as the Pastoral Epistles, are attributed to the apostle Paul. They are unlike any other letters by Paul. They are written to two of his closest companions, Timothy and Titus, and they instruct those two leaders how to lead gathered Christians in Ephesus and in Crete. The letters contain plenty of instruction for how church leaders at that time, and in those places, were to function. In this commentary, Scot McKnight seeks to explain the major themes of the Pastoral Epistles - church order, false teaching, and failing Christians - and their foundational vision for how Christians could make a good impression in public life. These three brief letters express a view of how Christians were to live in the Roman empire in a way that does not offend public sensibilities. They prescribe a way of public behavior best translated as 'civilized religion.'
Pastoral Epistles by William D. Mounce; Lynn A. Losie (Editor); Ralph P. Martin (Editor)
Call Number: Online and 227.83077 M928P / REL REF 220.7 W924 V. 46
ISBN: 0849902452
Publication Date: 2000-04-29
Argues extensively for the Pauline authorship of all three letters, and gives great care to reconstruct the specific context of each letter within the life setting of Paul, Titus, Timothy, and the churches in Ephesus and Crete, showing how each letter responds specifically to particular problems or challenges. Derives this reconstruction from the Pastorals, Acts, and early Christian tradition. Emphasizes the uniquely Christian character and perspective of the letters, citing parallels with other canonical writings ... and contrasting them with Greco-Roman literary and philosophical works. Provides immense bibliographies on individual passages. Focuses on the theological meaning of the text. This theological interpretation implicitly reflects contemporary concerns, but gives little explicit attention to application (4.37.6).
First and Second Timothy and Titus by Thomas C. Oden
Call Number: Online and 227.8307 O23F / REL REF 220.7 I613 V. B13
ISBN: 9780664238704
Publication Date: 2012-09-03
Thomas Oden provides a modern commentary on the pastoral letters grounded in the classical, consensual tradition of interpretation. Oden uses the best and most accurate research concerning the historical, literary, and philological aspects of the pastoral letters. He addresses tough issues: the role of women in worship, problems of the rich and poor, the relation between servants and masters, policies concerning support of elderly widows, and how to handle church disruptions.
The Pastoral Epistles by Osvaldo Padilla; Eckhard J. Schnabel (Series edited by); Nicholas Perrin (Consultant Editor)
Call Number: Online and 227.8307 P123P / REL REF 220.77 T987 B14 2022
ISBN: 9781514006733
Publication Date: 2022-11-29
In his New Testament letters to Timothy and Titus, the apostle Paul is concerned with church order, defending correct doctrine, and passing on the faith. In this introduction and commentary to both letters, Osvaldo Padilla sets them in their distinct context of Paul's later ministry and draws out their pastoral wisdom....
The Pastoral Epistles by Stanley E. Porter
Call Number: Online and 227.83077 P844P
ISBN: 9780801027185
Publication Date: 2023-10-17
Leading New Testament scholar Stanley Porter offers a comprehensive commentary on the Pastoral Epistles that features rigorous biblical scholarship and emphasizes Greek language and linguistics. This book breaks new ground in its interpretation of these controversial letters by focusing on the Greek text and utilizing a linguistically informed exegetical method that draws on various elements in contemporary language study. Porter pays attention to the overall argument of the Pastoral Epistles while also analyzing word meanings and grammatical structures to tease out the textual meaning. Porter addresses major exegetical issues that arise in numerous highly disputed passages and--while attentive to the history of scholarship on First Timothy, Second Timothy, and Titus--often takes untraditional or innovative positions to blaze a new path forward rather than adopt settled answers. This commentary will appeal to professors, students, and scholars of the New Testament.
The First and Second Letters to Timothy by Jerome D. Quinn, and William C. Wacker
Call Number: 227.83077 Q7 / REL REF 220.7 E66 B13
ISBN: 0802824439
Publication Date: 2000
The Letters to Timothy and Titus by Philip H. Towner
Call Number: Online and 227.83077 T745L / REL REF 220.77 N5321 B22
ISBN: 0802825133
Publication Date: 2006-07-12
The most accessible, most broadly pitched full-length commentary on Timothy and Titus, this NICNT volume explores Paul's three letters to Timothy and Titus within their historical, religious, and cultural settings. In his introduction, Towner sets out the rationale for his historical approach, questions certain assumptions of recent critical scholarship, and establishes the uniqueness and individuality of each letter. Significantly, Towner's work displays unprecedented interaction with four recent major commentaries on these Pauline letters. Centered on an outstanding translation of the Greek text and including thorough footnotes, bibliographical citations, and indexes, Towner's commentary on Timothy and Titus is sure to become a standard reference for busy pastors, students, and scholars.
1 and 2 Timothy and Titus by Robert W. Wall; Richard B. Steele
Call Number: 227.83077 W187T / REL REF 220.7 T974 B13
ISBN: 9780802825629
Publication Date: 2012-12-19
This theological commentary on 1 & 2 Timothy and Titus by Robert Wall powerfully demonstrates the ongoing relevance and authority of the Pastoral Epistles for the church today. Wall uniquely employs an apostolic "Rule of Faith" methodology for interpreting these texts as sacred Scripture. Three successive historical case studies by Richard Steele vividly instantiate key themes of the Pastorals....

Commentaries: Series

The Anchor Bible: A New Translation with Introduction and Commentary by William Foxwell Albright and David Noel Freedman
Call Number: REL REF 220.7 A539

Publication Date: 1964
Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture by Thomas C. Oden and Gerald L. Bray
Call Number: REL REF 281.1 A541

Publication Date: 2009-
Brazos Theological Commentary on the Bible by R. R. Reno
Call Number: REL REF 220.7 B827

Publication Date: 2005
Calvin's Commentaries by John Calvin
Call Number: REL REF 220.77 C168C

Publication Date: 1979
The Church's Bible by Robert Louis Wilken
Call Number: REL REF 281.1 C561

Publication Date: 2003-
A Continental Commentary
Call Number: REL REF 220.77 C762
Eerdmans Critical Commentary by David Noel Freedman and Astrid B. Beck
Call Number: REL REF 220.7 E66

Publication Date: 2000-2012
Hermeneia--A Critical and Historical Commentary on the Bible by Frank Moore Cross and Helmut Koester
Call Number: REL REF 220.77 H553

Publication Date: 1971
The International Critical Commentary by New series edited by J.A. Emerton, C.E.B. Cranfield, and Graham N. Stanton.
Call Number: REL REF 220.7 I612

Publication Date: 1975
International Theological Commentary by Fredrick Carlson Holmgren and George A. F. Knight
Call Number: REL REF 220.77 I618

Publication Date: 1993-1998
New Cambridge Bible Commentary by Bill T. Arnold and Ben Witherington III

Call Number: REL REF 220.77 N532C

Publication Date: 2003--
The NIV Application Commentary by Terry Muck
Call Number: REL REF 220.77 N532

Publication Date: 1994-2021
Reformation Commentary on Scripture
Call Number: REL REF 270.607 R332
Smyth & Helwys Bible Commentary by R. Scott Nash
Call Number: REL REF 220.7 S667

Publication Date: 2000
The Two Horizons Commentary by J. Gordon McConville and Craig Bartholomew
Call Number: REL REF 220.7 T974

Publication Date: 2005-2017
Westminster Bible Companion by Patrick D. Miller and David L. Bartlett
Call Number: REL REF 220.77 W532

Publication Date: 1995-2013
Wisdom Commentary Series by Barbara E. Reid
Call Number: REL REF 220.7 W811

Publication Date: 2015
Word Biblical Commentaries by Bruce M. Metzger
Call Number: REL REF 220.7 W924

Publication Date: 1982

New Testament Commentaries: Series

Abingdon New Testament Commentaries by Victor Paul Furnish
Call Number: REL REF 225.07 A149

Publication Date: 1996-2011
Augsburg Commentary on the New Testament by Robert H. Smith
Call Number: REL REF 220.7 A921

Publication Date: 1989
Baker Exegetical Commentary by Robert W. Yarbrough and Robert H. Stein
Call Number: REL REF 225.077 B167

Publication Date: 1996-
Black's New Testament Commentary by Henry Chadwick
Call Number: REL REF 225.77 B627

Publication Date: 1960-
Explanatory Notes upon the New Testament by John Wesley
Publication Date: REL REF 225.7 W513E
The IVP New Testament Commentary Series by Grant R. Osborne
Call Number: REL REF 225.77 I962

Publication Date: 1992-2009
New International Commentary on the New Testament by Ned B. Stonehouse, F.F. Bruce, Gordon D. Fee, and Joel B. Green
Call Number: REL REF 220.77 N5321

Publication Date: 1951-
New International Greek Testament Commentary by I. Howard Marshall
Call Number: REL REF 225.77 N532G

Publication Date: 1978-
Paideia Commentaries on the New Testament by Mikeal C. Parsons and Charles H. Talbert
Publication Date: 2008-
The Pillar New Testament Commentary Series by D. A. Carson
Call Number: REL REF 225.77 P641

Publication Date: 1990-
Sacra Pagina by Daniel J. Harrington, SJ
Call Number: REL REF 225.07 S123

Publication Date: 2010-
Tyndale New Testament Commentaries by Leon Morris
Publication Date: 1958-1989
Zondervan Exegetical Commentary on the New Testament by Clinton E. Arnold
Call Number: REL REF 225.77 Z872

Publication Date: 2008-

Sample Bibliographic Citation

Dictionaries and encyclopedias typically include bibliographies at the end of each chapter. These updated lists of sources on specific research topics are invaluable at the beginning of the research process. The sample below shows the first two pages of a bibliography at the end of an encyclopedia chapter on ecclesiology.

To cite an article such as this one, using SBL Style, obtain the page range of the chapter along with the author's name. The author's name typically appears after the bibliography at the end of the chapter. In the example above, the author's name occurs between the end of the bibliography and the beginning of the next article heading.

Sample bibliographic entry:

Smith, M.J. “Feminist and Womanist Criticisms.” Pages 278-283 in Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels: A Compendium of Contemporary Biblical Scholarship. Edited by Joel B. Green, Jeannine K. Brown, and Nicholas Perrin. Downers Grove, IL: IVP Academic, 2013.