Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Choose one of the databases on this page and follow these research tips:
1. Know your topic
2. Use various search terms on your topic
3. Try limiting your search to full-text while working from the dorm or home
4. If you need help, Contact the Library
Locate Scholarly Journals
Click here for a listing of all databases.
Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
Articles across all subjects. Contains both scholarly research and general magazines. Good starting point any time you need journal articles.
America: History and Life with Full Text* This link opens in a new window
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With full-text coverage of hundreds of journals and books, and selective indexing for journals dating back nearly 60 years.
American Memory (Library of Congress) This link opens in a new window
Multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text from the Library of Congress Americana collections.
American National Biography* This link opens in a new window
Contains full text articles of more than 17,000 men and women who are important in American history.
Bibliography of Native North Americans
Covers all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. Includes topics such as archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. Contains more than 80,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Coverage ranges from the sixteenth century to the present.
Cambridge Histories Online* This link opens in a new window
Contains over 250 volumes published since 1960, equating to around 196,000 pages of unrivalled scholarship that covers over 15 different academic subjects with Citation export functionality.
eBook Collection (EBSCO)* This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of academic electronic books from EBSCO. (Formerly NetLibrary ebooks.)
ERIC (EBSCO)* This link opens in a new window
Over 700,000 citations on research documents, journal articles, program descriptions and evaluations, curricular materials and technical reports in education.
ERIC (Gov't) This link opens in a new window
Government site has more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966 and more than 107,000 full text non journal documents. Moving forward with modernization program to bring you more free materials in the education field.
European View of the Americas 1493-1750
Created from “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750,” the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
HeritageQuest Online* This link opens in a new window
Contains a full text collection of over 25,000 family and local histories which includes over 25,000 books, U.S. Census 1790-1930 records, obituaries, bank records and more.
Humanities Full Text* This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. Encompasses all fields of the humanities, covering topics including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion and much, much more.
Texas Digital Sanborn Maps* This link opens in a new window
Digitized maps provide detailed property and land-use records that depicts the architecture of Texas throughout the past one hundred years. Browse by city and date.
Texas Reference Center
Includes more than 80 full text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden and sports & leisure. Contains biographies portraying famous historical and contemporary Texans such as George Herbert Walker Bush, Lady Bird Johnson, Dan Moody, Susanna Dickinson and Sam Houston.
The Handbook of Texas Online This link opens in a new window
Contains full text articles on Texas history, culture, geography, events, people, places, institutions and many other categories.
Research & Instructional Services Librarian