Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Choose one of the databases on this page and follow these research tips:
1. Know your topic
2. Use various search terms on your topic
3. Try searching for only full-text while working from the dorm or home
4. If you need help, Contact the Library
Locate Scholarly Journals
Click here for a listing of all databases.
Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
Articles across all subjects. Contains both scholarly research and general magazines. Good starting point any time you need journal articles.
Communication Source* This link opens in a new window
Includes CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). (Some full-text)
ECO* This link opens in a new window
A collection of scholarly journals across disciplines. Some full-text.
ERIC (EBSCO)* This link opens in a new window
Over 700,000 citations on research documents, journal articles, program descriptions and evaluations, curricular materials and technical reports in education.
ERIC (Gov't) This link opens in a new window
Government site has more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966 and more than 107,000 full text non journal documents. Moving forward with modernization program to bring you more free materials in the education field.
Humanities Full Text* This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. Encompasses all fields of the humanities, covering topics including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion and much, much more.
Inter-Play (A Play Index) This link opens in a new window
Provides easy access to the locations of printed plays in collections, anthologies and periodicals. The call numbers listed are Library of Congress classifications, while ACU uses Dewey classifications. We may or may not own all the titles in this index, so you can look up the collection, anthology or periodical by title in ALCON
, the library catalog, to find the call number for ACU.
Internet Broadway Database
Provides a comprehensive database of shows produced on Broadway, including all "title page" information about each production. Also offers historical information about theatres and various statistics and fun facts related to Broadway.
Internet Movie Database (IMDb)
The world’s most popular and authoritative source for movie, TV and celebrity content. We offer a searchable database of more than 100 million data items including more than 2 million movies, TV and entertainment programs and more than 4 million cast and crew members.
Lexis-Nexis Universe* (Now Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to hundreds of full-text newspapers, periodicals, trade newspapers, broadcast transcripts from the U.S. and some foreign sources.