Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible
Call Number: 220.3 N532 V.1-5 (Rel. Ref. 3rd floor Stanley wing)
Good articles on biblical people and places but also on religious treatment of general contemporary issues. A classic theology reference.
The Anchor Bible Dictionary
Call Number: 220.3 A539 (Rel. Ref. 3rd floor Stanley wing)
"Babel" article covers history, meaning, and possible interpretations.
Call Number: 220.77 N532 A1 [Stanley wing, commentaries section]
Publication Date: 2001-10-15
Easy to read notes on each passage; emphasizes contemporary application and what a passage means for today.
From Eden to Babel by
Call Number: 220.77 I618 A1 [Stanley wing, commenaries section]
Publication Date: 1988-09-01
Good mix of readability and scholarship. Narrative covers biblical significance as well as interpretation.
Call Number: 222.1107 W734G [Stanley Theology wing]
Contains a section on Tower of Babel and its meaning.
For in-depth research
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS* This link opens in a new window
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS offers 436 full-text journals in many diverse areas of religion and theology, with full-text content in 16 languages from more than 30 different countries. AtlaSerials PLUS includes all of the journal titles in Atla's original project, AtlaSerials and 108 additional full-text titles as of January 2018.