Credo Resource Guide American History: Books

In analytical articles, this work explores the developments that influenced the profound changes in thought and sensibility during the second half of the eighteenth century and the first half of the nineteenth century.

Filled with surprising anecdotes, little-known facts, and rare illustrations, this resource covers major events and battles, commanders and theorists, weaponry and technological advances, and strategy and tactics.

Covers the world's best known and most significant vessels of every size and type. Each ship is described in a vivid short essay that captures its personality as well as its physical characteristics, construction, and history, from the drawing board to the scrap yard or museum.

Alphabetical entries present the culture, history, and key figures of the American South in the half-century before the Civil War.

Covers all aspects of 19th century history: population, politics and government, economy and work, society and culture, religion, social problems and reform, everyday life, and foreign policy are explored in A-to-Z articles

Written by contemporary authorities, the volume features many Native American contributors - including eminent writers, tribal elders, scholars, and activists - with voices as distinct as their subjects, offering a deeper and more informed appreciation of American Indian life, past and present

Covers the world's best known and most significant vessels of every size and type. Each ship is described in a vivid short essay that captures its personality as well as its physical characteristics, construction, and history, from the drawing board to the scrap yard or museum.

This encyclopedia explores the many long-standing influences of Africa and people of African descent on the culture of the Americas, while tracing the many ways in which the Americas remain closely interconnected with Africa.

A comprehensive encyclopedia covering the close ties between Britain and the whole of the Americas, examining Britain's cultural and political legacy to the nations of the New World.

A unique, multidisciplinary encyclopedia covering the impacts that French and American politics, foreign policy, and culture have had on shaping each country's identity.

This comprehensive encyclopedia details the close ties between the German-speaking world and the Americas, examining the extensive Germanic cultural and political legacy in the nations of the New World and the equally substantial influence of the Americas on the Germanic nations.

This comprehensive encyclopedia covers the reciprocal effects that the politics, foreign policy, and culture of Spain, Portugal, and the American nations have had on one another since the time of Columbus.

This work is a distinctive, multidisciplinary encyclopedia covering the cultural, political, economic, musical, and literary impact that Ireland and the nations of the Americas have had on one another since the time of Brendan the Navigator.

Covers a wide spectrum of American history and culture, including political events, military history, sports, arts, entertainment, landmark legislation, and business. The book's concise entries, arranged from A to Z, bring the United States' past into sharp focus while also offering just plain useful facts about the well known and not so well known

Offers entries covering the critical events, issues and individuals that have shaped American History.

Brings together a wide range of disciplines related to the history and cultures of the United States, from pre-colonial days to the present.

Entries in this volume synthesize a great deal of information about the historical and contemporary meanings of many of the central terms that structure the fields of American studies and cultural studies; they provide contexts for the usage of those terms by discussing how their meanings have developed over time; and they may even unlock a few mysteries and break a few codes.

Tells stories of barrier-breaking pioneers in all fields-arts, entertainment, business, civil rights, education, government, inventing, journalism, religion, science, sports, and more.

Examines every effort to end slavery in the United States and the transatlantic world. It focuses on massive, broad-based movements, as well as specific incidents, events, and developments, and pulls together in one place information previously available only in a wide variety of sources.

Includes full coverage of the Railroad in both the United States and Canada, which was the ultimate destination of many of the escaping slaves. Explores the people, places, writings, laws, and organizations that made this network possible.

Who Was Who in America preserves the lifetime accomplishments of many world history-makers.

Preserves the lifetime accomplishments of many world history-makers.

A collection of biographies of the men and women who have made a significant contribution to environmental issues over the last 200 years. Biographies range from scientists to advocates, businessmen to musicians, politicians to actors, along with others who have forever altered how we think about the environment.

A directory of biographical information on America's most notable men and women from every field of endeavor.

Covers the lives of exceptional women throughout three and a half centuries of American history, including artists, lawyers, reformers, educators, entrepreneurs, physicists, writers, pioneers, presidents' ladies, film stars.

The publication of the first volumes of Notable American Women in 1971 was a watershed event in women's history. By uncovering and documenting the enormous contributions that women had made - previously overlooked or underappreciated - this important reference work changed the way historians thought and wrote about American history.

The life stories of American women who have in some way affected contemporary American life are explored in this lauded companion to Notable American Women, 1607-1950.

A comprehensive and valuable compendium of biographies of leading women in U.S. politics, past and present, and an examination of the wide range of women's movements.

Contains detailed profiles, historical essays, primary documents, timeline, and bibliography.

This resource, while focusing primarily on Supreme Court cases, also includes major federal or state cases that set precedents. It contains cases organized by broad legal principles, then arranged alphabetically under the more specific legal issue.

Top scholars present an unbiased work that takes on the explosive issue of guns and gun violence in the United States.

Covers the complete scandal-filled history of American political corruption.

A comprehensive history of conspiracies and conspiracy theories in the United States.