Historical/Systematic Theology

Comprehensive work describing Christianity in its various configurations throughout the world. Includes articles covering early Christianity in addition to developments over the centuries. Also treats other world religions and philosophies.

The New Dictionary of Theology: Historical and Systematic has an international team of contributors, and many are acknowledged experts in their fields. The Dictionary combines excellence in scholarship with a high standard of clarity and insight into current theological issues, yet it avoids being unduly technical. Students, teachers and ministers, as well as scholars and everyone seeking a better understanding of theology, will value it as an indispensable reference work. The volume is enhanced by a spacious and clear design, an extensive and easy-to-use cross-reference system and bibliographies which feature the best and most readily available works in English.

Major reference work on key figures in the history of the church and their theology.

The Companion Encyclopedia of Theology provides a comprehensive guide to modern theological thought. An international team of theologians and practitioners of both the Christian and Jewish faiths investigate and consider aspects of theology in 48 self-contained articles. Neither partisan and denominational, nor detached and abstract, this Companion explores the resources and applications of theology in the light of Christianity's place in the modern world.

Summarizes the distinctive features of Judeo-Christian theology while tracing connections with other religious traditions.

The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Modern Christian Thought is an authoritative and readable reference source for all interested in the development of Christian thought from the dawn of the Enlightenment to the present day. The Encyclopedia includes substantial review essays dealing with the development of central themes of Christian thought, including the doctrine of God, the person and work of Christ, and Christian understandings of other religions.

The Oxford Handbook of Systematic Theology brings together a set of original and authoritative accounts of all the major areas of current research in Christian systematic theology, offering a thorough survey of the state of the discipline and of its prospects for those undertaking researchand teaching in the field. The Handbook engages in a comprehensive examination of themes and approaches, guiding the reader through current debates and literatures in the context of the historical development of systematic theological reflection.