LibGuides: Historical/Systematic Theology: Online Databases

Research Tips

Choose one of the databases on this page and follow these research tips:
1. Know your topic.
2. Use various search terms on your topic.
3. Try limiting your search to full-text while working from the dorm or home.
4. If you need help, Contact the Library

Locate Scholarly Journals

Research Databases

Click here for a listing of all databases.

Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
Articles across all subjects. Contains both scholarly research and general magazines. Good starting point any time you need journal articles.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS* This link opens in a new window
A collection of major religion and theology journals selected by some of the major religion scholars in the United States. Full text version of the ATLA Religion Database.
eBook Collection (EBSCO)* This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of academic electronic books from EBSCO. (Formerly NetLibrary ebooks.)
Humanities Full Text* This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. Encompasses all fields of the humanities, covering topics including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion and much, much more.
Ministry Matters* This link opens in a new window
Includes full text of Bible commentaries, articles, prayers, music, videos, and more. The Research Library contains Biblical reference (Dictionary of Biblical Interpretation), commentaries, lectionary resources, sermon illustrations, children's sermons, worship resources, pastoral resources, devotions and prayers, and teaching resources.
New Testament Abstracts* This link opens in a new window
Partnership between ATLA and the Weston Jesuit School of Theology. Contains more than 38,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 13,500 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts.
Old Testament Abstracts* This link opens in a new window
Partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Biblical Association. Features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies.
Religion and Philosophy Collection* This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive full-text database covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy with more than 300 full-text journals.

Restoration Serials Index

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae* This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive full text digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era.

Your Librarian Liaison

Craig Churchill
Liaison to Biblical Studies, Theology, Marriage & Family Studies, Graduate School of Theology
E-mail: churchillc@acu.edu
Phone: 325-674-2347
Library Room: 374 (Stanley Wing)
Profile & Guides