Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Social Science Areas
Social Sciences can Include: Economics, Education, Geography, History, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology.
ERIC (EBSCO)* This link opens in a new window
Over 700,000 citations on research documents, journal articles, program descriptions and evaluations, curricular materials and technical reports in education. Government site has more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966 and more than 107,000 full text non journal documents. Moving forward with modernization program to bring you more free materials in the education field. (Some full-text)
Business Source Complete* This link opens in a new window
Contains full text of more active, peer-reviewed, business related journals than any other database currently available. Indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals date back to 1886.
PsycINFO* This link opens in a new window
From the APA-contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,100 periodicals in more than 25 languages. (Some full-text)
SocINDEX with Full Text* This link opens in a new window
World's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others
Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
Full text database of peer-reviewed academic journals. Contains full text articles from over 4,500 scholarly publications, and abstracts and indexing for nearly 8,000 scholarly journals. Areas covered include social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc.
CQ Researcher* This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly in print and online 44 times a year by CQ Press. Each single-themed, 12,000-word report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Key Books in Print
Encyclopedia of Psychology
Call Number: 150.3 E56 Vols.1-4 (Ref. collection main floor)
International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences
Call Number: 300.3 I61 Vols. 1-9 (Ref. collection main floor)
Encyclopedia of Sociology
Call Number: 301.03 E56 Vols.1-5 (Ref. collection main floor)
Countries and Their Cultures
Call Number: 306.03 C855 Vols.1-4 (Ref. collection main floor)
Encyclopedia of Marriage and the Family
Call Number: 306.803 E56 Vols.1-2 (Ref. collection main floor)
Encyclopedia of Government and Politics
Call Number: 320.03 E56 Vols.1-2 (Ref. collection main floor)
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice
Call Number: 364.03 E56 Vols.1-2 (Ref. collection main floor)
Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History by
Call Number: 903 B512 Vols.1-5 (Ref. collection main floor)
Publication Date: 2005-06-01