Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Arts and Humanities Subjects
Arts and Humanities can Include: Literature, English, History, Music, Philosophy, Art.
Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
Full text database of peer-reviewed academic journals. Contains full text articles from over 4,500 scholarly publications, and abstracts and indexing for nearly 8,000 scholarly journals. Areas covered include social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc.
Cambridge Histories Online* This link opens in a new window
Contains over 250 volumes published since 1960, equating to around 196,000 pages of unrivalled scholarship that covers over 15 different academic subjects with Citation export functionality.
Humanities Full Text* This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and much more. Encompasses all fields of the humanities, covering topics including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion and much, much more.
Literary Reference Center* This link opens in a new window
Features an expansive collection of author biographies, plot summaries & work overviews, full-text essays from leading publishers, literary reference books & monographs, cover-to-cover full text for literary magazines & journals, book reviews from the most prestigious publications, poems from hundreds of sources, short stories, classic texts, author interviews, and much more.
MLA International Bibliography* This link opens in a new window
Includes journal articles, books and dissertations in criticism, drama, folklore, humanities, language, and literature.
National Jukebox This link opens in a new window
The National Jukebox makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. Includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives. Recordings include music by composers Bach, Chopin, Gershwin, and Berlin. Singers include George Price, the Brox Sisters, Elliott Shaw, and Billy Murray.
Key Books in Print
Dictionary of Art
Call Number: 703 D554 Vols.1-34 (Ref. collection main floor)
Encyclopedia of Interior Design
Call Number: 747.03 E56 Vols. 1-2 (Ref. collection main floor)
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
Call Number: 780.3 G883n 2001 Vols. 1-29 (Ref. collection main floor)
Call Number: 796.0922 G786 Vols.1-8 (Ref. collection main floor)
Literary Movements for Students
Call Number: 809.91 L776G Vols.1-2 (Ref. collection main floor)
Women in World History
Call Number: 920.7203 W872 Vols.1-17 (Ref. collection main floor)