Nursing

This book provides a comprehensive framework for planning, guiding, and evaluating learning activities for graduate and undergraduate nursing students in numerous clinical settings. A respected resource for clinical faculty, it addresses the distinct requirements of clinical learning as opposed to classroom learning and provides proven strategies to maximize clinical education.

This book is unique in its provision of rigorous rubrics that fully take into account learning objectives and the teaching and learning process, and promote objective grading. It examines a variety of time-tested, alternative evaluation methods, discusses how to design them, and includes best practices for using them. The book provides an overview of how evaluation and rubrics play an integral part within the larger nursing education teaching and learning process. It helps educators clearly define learning objectives and desired outcomes, and how to evaluate them.

Considered the "gold standard" for evaluation and testing in nursing education, this fifth edition of the classic text helps educators to assess the level of learning achieved in the classroom, in clinical settings, and online with expanded coverage of essential concepts in assessment, evaluation, and testing in a wider variety of learning environments. It presents new content on evaluation in online programs and testing and features a new chapter on using simulation for assessment and high-stakes evaluations. Also included is updated information on clinical evaluation and program evaluation along with current research featuring new examples and tools. The fifth edition expands content on standardized tests, including how to write test items for licensure and certification exam prep, and provides new information on developing rubrics for assessing written assignments

This evidence-based text encompasses both theoretical and practical information and includes content on teaching and learning, assessment and evaluation, curriculum development, using technology, teaching in simulation, learning lab and online courses, models for clinical teaching, scholarship and evidence-based education, and other components of the educator role.

This is a detailed yet practical guide to planning, developing, and evaluating nursing curricula and educational programs.

"This guide and resource will give you all the direction and resources you need to perform in the role of a medical-surgical clinical instructor√ Instructors will discover this book takes the work out of working in the clinical area." This is the first comprehensive resource for clinical medical-surgical nursing instructors responsible for guiding students through their entire clinical rotation. Filling a huge gap in resources for instructors required to teach this course, it contains everything the new or adjunct instructor needs to teach expertly and confidently.

This is the first comprehensive resource for clinical medical-surgical nursing instructors responsible for guiding students through their entire clinical rotation. Filling a huge gap in resources for instructors required to teach the medical-surgical nursing course, it contains everything the new or adjunct instructor needs to teach expertly and confidently.

This book successfully combines scholarly work with practical, easy-to-understand advice that has appeal even beyond nursing and healthcare. It provides a view of mentoring that is much deeper than most readers would expect. The connection the author makes between empowering mentors and mentees and successful organizations provides readers with a sense of hope for improvement and change in the workplace environment.

This popular and manageable mentoring book gives you strategies and ideas to help devise and enhance learning opportunities for students.

Despite astronomical growth in the number of online nursing programs currently available, little support is provided for faculty on how to teach in this environment. While most assume that the knowledge and skills required for classroom teaching are readily translatable to teaching online, significant differences exist. Characteristics unique to the online environment promote reflection and engagement with the content in a deep and meaningful way that factors in adult students' strengths as self-directed, motivated, and goal-driven learners. This resource provides step-by-step instructions for RN to Bachelor of Science in Nursing, master's, Doctor of Nursing Practice, and PhD faculty on how to teach online effectively, engage students, and foster success for both student and teacher.

Written by luminaries in the field of nursing education, this is the only current and comprehensive compendium of important topics in nursing education. It contains more than 175 detailed entries

This book represents a call to arms, a call for nursing educators and programs to step up in our preparation of nurses.

This is the only book to offer an evidence-based model for retaining students and ensuring success across the nursing education spectrum. It is designed to assist faculty in creating, implementing, and evaluating student retention and academic success strategies.

This book provides a practical, step-by-step guide to designing and developing simulation scenarios and integrating them into the nursing curriculum. Compiling all of the authors lessons learned, teaching-learning strategies, and in-depth research and exploration of their topics, this book is an excellent guide for nursing faculty just getting started with simulations or is validation for faculty who are already using this pedagogy.

Appropriate for all levels of nursing students, from pre-licensure to doctoral level, the book contains the authors' own advice and experiences working in simulation around the globe.

This comprehensive guide to establishing and managing a human simulation lab has been written by nationally acclaimed simulation experts and is geared for undergraduate, graduate, and professional settings.The text takes the reader step-by-step through the process of planning, organizing, implementing, and maintaining a simulation lab.

The accompanying workbook helps educators, managers, patient safety advocates, administrators, and union representatives to analyze and discuss the issues raised in the play. When presented in hospitals, universities, and health care conferences all over the United States, Bedside Manners invariably sparks a vibrant conversation about patient safety problems and how to solve them, job satisfaction and stress, and the importance of information sharing and mutual respect. As text or script, this play is a unique teaching tool for medical and nursing schools, and other health professional schools and continuing education programs involving health care clinicians and staff of all kinds.

This highly practical volume meets a growing need for guidelines on planning, organizing, and implementing a health care education simulation center, using the collaborative and cost effective consortium model.