Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BIBH 670 Issues in Global Christianity

Select ACU Library print and electronic resources supporting this course taught by Dr. Wes Crawford

Usefulness of Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Bible dictionaries provide in-depth, encyclopedic articles on books of the Bible, as well as people, places, topics, events, and practices mentioned in the Bible. Many dictionary articles include select bibliographies for further study, and this feature contributes to the usefulness of dictionaries at the beginning of the research process.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Sample Bibliography

Dictionaries and encyclopedias typically include bibliographies at the end of each chapter. These updated lists of sources on specific research topics are invaluable at the beginning of the research process. The sample below shows the first two pages of a bibliography at the end of an encyclopedia chapter on ecclesiology.

To cite an article such as this one, using SBL Style, obtain the page range of the chapter along with the author's name. The author's name typically appears after the bibliography at the end of the chapter. In the example above, the author's name occurs between the end of the bibliography and the beginning of the next article on ecology.

Example bibliography entry:

Kärkkäinen, Veli-Matti. “Asian Theological Trends.” Pages 186–188 in Brill's Encyclopedia of Global Pentecostalism. Edited by Michael Wilkinson. Boston: Brill, 2021.