Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS* This link opens in a new window
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS offers 436 full-text journals in many diverse areas of religion and theology, with full-text content in 16 languages from more than 30 different countries. AtlaSerials PLUS includes all of the journal titles in Atla's original project, AtlaSerials and 108 additional full-text titles as of January 2018.
A searchable online Bible in over 100 translations/versions.
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Modern Christian Thought
Traces the development of Christian thought from the Enlightenment forward. Available in print at 230.09 B632 (REL REF)
Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, 2005
Provides coverage of the history and development of the Christian church from its inception to the present day throughout the world. Introductions with bibliographies highlighting the major people, doctrines, events, and places associated with Christianity. Available in print at 260.3 098 2005 (REL REF).
Religion and Philosophy Collection* This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive full-text database covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy with more than 300 full-text journals.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Comprehensive coverage of various people, places, events, and topics related to philosophy and ethics. Useful for undergraduates as well as graduates.
Wabash Center Internet Guide to Religion
A selective, annotated guide to a wide variety of electronic resources of interest to those who are involved in the practice and study of religion, including... electronic texts, electronic journals, web sites, bibliographies, liturgies, reference resources, and software... (excerpt from homepage of site)
Westminster Dictionary of Theological Terms
Provides brief definitions (one to three sentences) from a broad range of theological disciplines. Focuses on the meaning of theological terms (5,500 total) and excludes, for the most part, proper names of individuals. Available in print at 230.03 M158W (REL REF).
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias (Print)
Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible by
Call Number: 220.3 E26 (REL REF)
Excellent single-volume Bible dictionary focusing on people, places, books, and events of the Bible.
Encyclopedia of Christianity, 5 vols, 1999-2005 by
Call Number: 230.03 E92 (REL REF)
Comprehensive work describing Christianity in its various configurations throughout the world. Includes articles covering early Christianity in addition to developments over the centuries. Also treats other world religions and philosophies.
Encyclopedia of Christian Theology, 3 vols, 2005 by
Call Number: 230.03 E56 2005 (REL REF)
Summarizes the distinctive features of Judeo-Christian theology while tracing connections with other religious traditions.
New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible by
Call Number: ONLINE and REL REF 220.3 N532 Vols. 1-5
Publication Date: 2008-05-01
This dictionary will become the first place Bible readers look for reliable scholarship. Includes cross-references, helpful outlines, bibliography, and maps, charts, and illustrations.