LibGuides: Doctor of Nursing Practice: Complementary/Alternative Medicine

Complementary/Alternative Medicine

Drugs, Herbs and Supplements
Browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.
CAM on PubMed
Your literature search will be automatically limited to the complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) subset of PubMed.
Dietary Supplement (DS) Subset of PubMed
Your literature search will be automatically limited to the Dietary Supplement (DS) Subset of PubMed.
HerbMed
HerbMed® - an interactive, electronic herbal database - provides hyperlinked access to the scientific data underlying the use of herbs for health.
VITAMINS, HERBS, AND DIETARY SUPPLEMENTS
Find evidence-based information on individual ingredients such as herbs, vitamins, minerals, and other dietary supplements. The supplement monographs on RxList include a description, review of effectiveness, how it works, safety concerns, and interactions with medications.

ACU Library Subscribed Databases

Alternative Health Watch* This link opens in a new window
This alternative health database provides full text for 180 publications in the collection, including many peer-reviewed journals. Provides in-depth coverage across many subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine dating back to 1990.
Health Source: Consumer Edition* This link opens in a new window
The richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Features searchable full-text for nearly 150 journals. Updated on a daily basis.
Natural & Alternative Treatments* This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth analysis of more than 200 distinct health conditions and the natural treatments used to treat them.