The Concise Dictionary of Pastoral Care and Counseling by Glenn H. Asquith
Call Number: REL REF 253.5 C744
Publication Date: 2010-10-01
The Concise Dictionary of Pastoral Care and Counseling is a condensed version of the Dictionary of Pastoral Care and Counseling, first published in 1990, with new and updated articles. This book provides classic and key articles that explain current theories, trends, and practices in the field of Pastoral Care and Counseling.
Call Number: ONLINE (Also at REL REF 016.22 B344E)
Publication Date: 2014-03-18
This highly selective bibliography is designed to acquaint students and ministers with major works, significant publishers, and prominent scholars in biblical studies. Bauer offers the best book-length assessment of commentaries available and is limited only by date of coverage. Published in 2014, the guide lacks entries for standard works such as Boda's contribution on The Book of Zechariah (NICOT; 2016) and Boring's on I & II Thessalonians (NTL; 2015). For a more recent, but less reliable, guide see John F. Evans, A Guide to Biblical Commentaries and Reference Works (ONLINE; also at REL REF 016.22 E924G 2016).
Action research is a term used to describe a family of related approaches that integrate theory and action with a goal of addressing important organizational, community, and social issues together with those who experience them. It focuses on the creation of areas for collaborative learning and the design, enactment and evaluation of liberating actions through combining action and research, reflection and action in an ongoing cycle of cogenerative knowledge. While the roots of these methodologies go back to the 1940s, there has been a dramatic increase in research output and adoption in university curricula over the past decade. This is now an area of high popularity among academics and researchers from various fields--especially business and organization studies, education, health care, nursing, development studies, and social and community work. The SAGE Encyclopedia of Action Researchbrings together the many strands of action research and addresses the interplay between these disciplines by presenting a state-of-the-art overview and comprehensive breakdown of the key tenets and methods of action research as well as detailing the work of key theorists and contributors to action research.
This five-volume reference work includes biographies of major figures in the Christian church in the United States, influential religious documents and Supreme Court decisions, and information on theology and theologians, denominations, faith-based organizations, immigration, art--from decorative arts and film to music and literature--evangelism and crusades, the significant role of women, racial issues, civil religion, and more.
The most recent of the major multi-volume Bible dictionaries that have been completed. Rivals ABD as the best work of its kind with a heavier accent on biblical-theological topics. Unfortunately, the bibliographies for too many of the entries are inadequate.
Dictionary of Christian Spirituality by Glen G. Scorgie (General Editor); Simon Chan (Guest Editor); Gordon T. Smith (Guest Editor); James D. Smith
Call Number: REL REF 248 Z872 2011
Publication Date: 2011-07-23
The Dictionary of Christian Spirituality reflects an overarching interpretive framework for evangelical spiritual formation: a holistic and grace-filled spirituality that encompasses relational (connecting), transformational (becoming), and vocational (doing) dynamics. At the same time, contributors respectfully acknowledge the differences between Reformed, Holiness, and Pentecostal paradigms of the spiritual life.
The New Interpreter's Handbook of Preaching is a major reference tool for preaching, with articles on every facet of Christian sermon preparation and delivery. This resource is both scholarly and practical. It focuses on the most distinctive feature and greatest strength of homiletics as a discipline: It is rooted in interdisciplinary scholarship and it develops theory geared to practice.
The World Christian Encyclopedia, now in its 3rd edition, documents the changing status of World Christianity over the past 120 years from historical and social scientific perspectives. It records the continued shift of Christianity to the Global South and contains estimates for religious and nonreligious affiliation in every country of the world, including detail on Christianity to the denominational level. This reference work features comprehensive descriptions of all Christian traditions, including current information on the uniqueness of Christian experiences around the world.