LibGuides: Healthcare Administration Online Program: Online Databases

Nursing Research

These databases will help you as you need to find more in-depth research or if you professor asks you to search a specific database.
Find a list of all of ACU Library's subscribed databases here.

Academic Search Complete* This link opens in a new window
Full text database of peer-reviewed academic journals. Contains full text articles from over 4,500 scholarly publications, and abstracts and indexing for nearly 8,000 scholarly journals. Areas covered include social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc.
Alternative Health Watch* This link opens in a new window
This alternative health database provides full text for 180 publications in the collection, including many peer-reviewed journals. Provides in-depth coverage across many subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine dating back to 1990.
CINAHL Complete* This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for 1,835 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. Contains searchable cited references for more than 930 journals and provides full text for hundreds of journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, and more. PDF backfiles to 1982 are also included.
eBook Collection (EBSCO)* This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of academic electronic books from EBSCO. (Formerly NetLibrary ebooks.)
eBrary* This link opens in a new window
Offers access to over 10,000 electronic titles from various academic subject areas, including business, computing, science & technology, medicine, social science, history, language, religion, music and fiction.
Health & Medicine (Gale OneFile)* This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text for an integrated collection of general interest health and fitness magazines, medical and professional periodicals, nursing and allied health journals, reference books, pamphlets, and newspaper articles.
Health Source: Consumer Edition* This link opens in a new window
The richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Features searchable full-text for nearly 150 journals. Updated on a daily basis.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition* This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Updated on a daily basis.
MedicLatina* This link opens in a new window
Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers. Provides access to full text for nearly 100 peer-reviewed medical journals.
MEDLINE (EBSCO)* This link opens in a new window
Another source of medicine and health related information in journals. Includes 3,800 current biomedical journals published in the U.S. and 70 foreign countries. Includes dentistry and nursing.
MEDLINE/PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to journal articles in the fields of medicine and health. Coverage begins in 1966. Contains the full text of some articles.
Natural & Alternative Treatments* This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth analysis of more than 200 distinct health conditions and the natural treatments used to treat them.
Ovid Nursing Full-Text Plus* This link opens in a new window
Includes 45 premier full-text journals from Lippincott Williams & Wilkins (LWW) as well as citations and abstracts from the Nursing subset of MEDLINE which covers approximately 276 nursing journals.
Proquest Digital Dissertations & Theses Global* This link opens in a new window
Online access to citations and abstracts for every title in Dissertation Abstracts plus all dissertations with a degree date of 2000 or 2001. Full text is available for some dissertations. Choose Proquest Dissertations & Theses Global from the list.
Proquest Nursing and Allied Health Source* This link opens in a new window
Provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. Provides abstracting and indexing for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text, plus more than 12,000 full text dissertations representing the most rigorous scholarship in nursing and related fields. (Select Medical Sciences - Nursing & Allied Health Source from drop-down menu.)
PubMed/MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to journal articles in the fields of medicine and health. Coverage begins in 1966. Contains the full text of some articles.
Sage Research Methods Online* This link opens in a new window
Online collection of books, journals, and reference materials that provide authoritative information on how to perform hundreds of research methods appropriate to your research question.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text* This link opens in a new window
The leading bibliographic database for sports and sports medicine research. It includes millions of records from leading sports medicine journals, books, dissertations and more. Subjects covered include nutrition, physical therapy, occupational health, exercise physiology and kinesiology.

Drugs, Herbs and Supplements
Browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.
CAM on PubMed
Your literature search will be automatically limited to the complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) subset of PubMed.
Dietary Supplement (DS) Subset of PubMed
Your literature search will be automatically limited to the Dietary Supplement (DS) Subset of PubMed.
HerbMed
HerbMed® - an interactive, electronic herbal database - provides hyperlinked access to the scientific data underlying the use of herbs for health.
VITAMINS, HERBS, AND DIETARY SUPPLEMENTS
Find evidence-based information on individual ingredients such as herbs, vitamins, minerals, and other dietary supplements. The supplement monographs on RxList include a description, review of effectiveness, how it works, safety concerns, and interactions with medications.

ACU Library Subscribed Databases

Alternative Health Watch* This link opens in a new window
This alternative health database provides full text for 180 publications in the collection, including many peer-reviewed journals. Provides in-depth coverage across many subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine dating back to 1990.
Health Source: Consumer Edition* This link opens in a new window
The richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Features searchable full-text for nearly 150 journals. Updated on a daily basis.
Natural & Alternative Treatments* This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth analysis of more than 200 distinct health conditions and the natural treatments used to treat them.

TRIPdatabase.com

TRIP is a fast tool for finding high quality clinical research evidence.

TRIP pulls information from Cochrane, National Guideline Clearninghouse and Medline. It also includes a PICO search tool.

The results found in this database will only link you to full text articles if available freely online or through ACU's purchased subscriptions. If you cannot access a certain article, please contact the library.

TRIP has several helpful training videos here.