Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Wylie High School Poetry Research Paper: Quick MLA Reference

Resources and databases in which you will find great information for your research paper.

Why Cite Sources?

Whenever you include someone else’s ideas in a paper, you must document or cite the source of the ideas. In other words, if you have learned anything new and include it in your paper, you must give credit to whoever provided the new information.

Remember that failure to do so properly is PLAGIARISM.

Book with an Editor

You may cite an essay from a book with an editor and multiple authors, or the whole book. This will depend on what you have quoted within your paper.

Format - Entire Edited Book
Last Name, First Name, ed. Title of Book. City, State: Publisher, Year.

     Print.

Example
Grover, Jan, ed. Healthcare. Detroit: Greenhaven Press, 2007. Print.

Format - Essay from an Edited Book
Last Name, First Name. "Essay Title." Title of Book. Ed. (Editor)

     First Name Last Name. City, State: Publisher, Year. Page(s). Print.

Example
Williams, Walter. "Bogus Rights." Healthcare. Ed. Jan Grover.

     Detroit: Greenhaven Press, 2007. 127-136. Print.

Online Encyclopedia from a Database

Format

Last Name, First Name (if available). "Title of Encyclopedia Entry." Title

     of Encyclopedia. Year. Name of Database. Web. Date Retrieved

     (Day Month Year).

Example

"Kahlo, Frida." The Columbia Encyclopedia. 2008. Credo Reference. Web.

     25 June 2009.

Book Format Encyclopedia with Author/Editor

Format - General Encyclopedia
Last Name, First Name (if available). "Title of Encyclopedia Entry."

      Title of Encyclopedia. # ed. Publication Year. Print.

Example
"Japan." The Encyclopedia Americana. 2004 ed. Print.

Format - Specialized Encyclopedia
Last Name, First Name. "Title of Encyclopedia Entry." Title of

     Encyclopedia. Ed. (Editor) First Name Last Name. # ed. (edition)

     Vol. #. City, State: Publisher, Year. Print.

Example
Swedberg, Richard. "Economic Sociology." Encyclopedia of Sociology. Ed.

     Edgar Borgatta and Rhonda Montgomery. 2nd ed. Vol. 2. New York:

     Macmillan Reference USA, 2000. Print.

Basics of In-text Citations

  • When mentioning the author in the text of your sentence, provide the page number(s) of the reference at the end of the sentence in parentheses. Example: Tannen has argued this point (178-85).  or  It may be true, as Robertson maintains, that "in appreciation of medieval art the attitude of the observer..." (136).
  • When not mentioning the author in the text of your sentence, provide the author and the page number(s) at the end of the sentence in parentheses.  Example: This point has already been argued (Tannen 178-85).  or  It may be true that "in the appreciation of medieval art the attitude of the observer..." (Robertson 136).

MLA Handbook pg 216-219, Section 6.3

Journal Articles

Format- Print

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal Vol.Issue (Year):

     Page(s). Print.

Example- Print

Hallin, Daniel C. "Sound Bite News." Journal of Communication 42.2

     (2000): 5-24. Print.

Format- from Database

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal Vol.Issue (Year):

     Page(s). Name of Database. Web. Date Retrieved (Day Month Year).

Example- from Database

Bartra, Valentin. "An Institutional Framework for a More Efficient Use of

     Natural Resources." Minerals & Energy 22.1-2 (2007): 48-61.

     Academic Search Complete. Web. 25 June 2009.

Book by One, Two, or Three Authors

Format

One Author:
Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. City, State: Publisher, Year. Print.

Example
Valenti, Francine. More Than a Movie. Boulder, CO: Westview Press,

     2000. Print.

Two or Three Authors:
Last Name, First Name and First Name Last Name. Title of Book. City,

     State: Publisher, Year. Print.

Example
Choy, Armando, Gustavo Chui, and Moises Sio Wong. Our History Is Still

     Being Written: The Story of Three Chinese-Cuban Generals in the

     Cuban Revolution. Atlanta, GA: Pathfinder Press, 2006. Print.