Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library 101 for ACU Faculty: Research and Resources

A quick information guide to the Brown Library, specifically geared toward new ACU faculty members.

Searching Databases

The ACU Library OneSearch is a comprehensive search engine that searches multiple ACU databases at once. In addition to full text journal articles and news sources, OneSearch also searches ebooks, abstracts, and the library catalog.

If you would like to do a more focused search, you can search individual databases by selecting them from our database list.

If you want to see if the ACU library has access to a specific academic journal you can check our Journal Finder.

Library Computer Lab (Room 301)

Located on the third floor of the Library, the Library Computer Lab is an open lab for students, faculty, and staff to complete course assignments or provide group instructional sessions.  The Library Computer Lab is a  great place to come and do research related to your courses.  We have a friendly staff available to help you with your research and technology needs.  The Lab provides PCs and Macs, as well as specialized software for your classes.  To reserve the Library Computer Lab for a session, contact the Library Administration Office at x2344.

Special Collections

The Callie Faye Milliken Special Collections/Abilene Christian University Archives of the Margaret and Herman Brown Library include those materials that, because of subject coverage, rarity, source, condition, or form, are best handled separately from the Main Collection.

The shelves are not open for browsing; the closed-stacked facility has over 6,000 catalogued titles in 12 different collections, over 1,600 linear feet of manuscripts and archives, over 7,000 photographic images, over 13,000 audio and video recordings, and a great number of uncataloged materials and ephemera. Materials are retrieved by the staff for use in the Reading Room. Materials are listed in the catalog. (Searchable above.)

Scanning service is available when it will NOT harm the materials and is permitted by federal copyright law.

Special Collections is located on the lower level of the Brown Library, or online at the Special Collections Blog.

Library Core Classroom

The Library Core Classroom, also known as the Mabee Auditorium, is located in the south entrance wing of the Library and provides an innovative teaching space with five interactive monitors for using multimedia-rich content.  The classroom is flexible in its configuration of tables and chairs to accommodate different learning environments.  To reserve the Core Classroom, contact the Library Administration Office at x2344.